Remembering My Late Father; Less words, more feelings…

Diary of a young lawyer...
5 min readOct 10, 2022

--

My late father, Mohammad Yaqoob Chachar

The day of October 10, 2021, was a day that would haunt my memories forever, it was the day that I do not want any child to go through. I awoke to the sound of my sister’s voice, trembling with fear and grief, I knew, in that instant moment, that my life would never be the same. Rushing to his room, I was met with the devastating sight, everyone was around him, except his soul. I witnessed my biggest fear.

He passed away. I stood there, speechless, motionless. My life shattered into a million pieces, The person who meant the world to me, one who had always been by my side, my source of strength, was gone and I was left with nothing. All I could do was remember that we belong to Allah, and to Him shall we return.

Sooner or later we all will die, but I want the story of my father to live on forever. With a heavy heart and a sorrowful soul, I write these few words in memory of my beloved father who has passed on; a man whose life and legacy I wish to remain immortalized in my heart and that of many others. May his spirit live on forever.

He was just 53 with a life full of hard work and struggle. He had come from a humble background, from a remote area (Kacho) of Pano Aqil, where his family made their living from small-scale farming. His education had only stretched to primary school, but despite that, he worked tirelessly in his workshop for over four decades, determined to give us, his four children a better life than he had. His commitment and dedication to providing a better future for us were inspirational. He was a man of immense strength and courage, and we were fortunate to have him.

From an early age, my father had to shoulder the weight of responsibility and make a difficult sacrifice. Rather than enjoying his teenage years like any other young person, his time was spent working as a helper, “chotu” at an electrical store, all for the sake of providing for his family.

After many years of struggle, he finally decided to take matters into his own hands. With a dream in his heart and with one chair, one table and not enough tools, he opened his own workshop. He had the courage to take a leap of faith, He was determined to change our fate, no matter how long it would take.

This is where it all started. lucky enough to have this photo, memory.
A blurry photo, but a vivid memory.

He was passionate about mechanical and electrical work and seized every opportunity he could to learn more. His dedication to his profession was highlighted by the certificate in our home which showed he was a certified wireman.

He had shed so much of his blood, sweat and tears to come this far and become a master of his work. People began to regard him with the utmost respect, calling him Ustad. It only took you a moment to read what I wrote, but behind it lies countless hard work, dedication, and passion.

My father’s thoughts, words, actions and whole life showed that knowledge and intelligence are not only acquired from formal schooling; they also come from life experience. He had a passion for writing in his diary, reading books and magazines, as well as renting out cameras to capture special moments. Most of my childhood pictures are courtesy of him.

He was aesthetic even before being aesthetic was a thing.

His diaries are full of memories of his move to the city to start a new life, as well as his daily routine, his knowledge and expertise, his views on various topics, his friendships and, most importantly, his love for my mother. Every New Year, he would include a heartfelt paragraph of best wishes and prayers for us, his family. His writing was often laced with insightful quotes from his own experience or from his readings.

Extract from my father’s diary.

My father was so much more than just that — he was a mentor, a guide, a companion and a friend. I went through a period of confusion and uncertainty when making my post-secondary educational choice. After completing my Intermediate in Pre-Medical, I switched my group and improved my results in Pre-Engineering before ultimately deciding to pursue a Law degree, a field in which I felt more comfortable. He never listened to anyone’s ranting about wasting money on me. Not then, not ever. The memory of his encouraging words still resonates in my mind. I recall when I was the runner-up in the debate competition and he was incredibly proud and happy for me. Despite the result, he made me feel like a winner.

He was always there for me through my highs and lows, helping me to get through whatever life threw at me.

It’s been a year since we lost him, It still feels so unreal. His presence is missed every day, and the lessons he taught us are never forgotten. He taught us to be proud of where we come from and always be grateful for the blessings that we have.

I was, I am, and I will always be so proud of him.

As difficult as it can be, witnessing your parents become ill is something no one should have to go through. May the Almighty keep everyone’s parents in good health and grant them long, prosperous lives.

So for everyone reading this, Be thankful to have your parents in your life. Cherish the moments with them, showing them your love and appreciation while you still can. In the end, all you will have are the memories…

I humbly request each and every one of you to take a moment to recite Surah Fatiha for the soul of my beloved father who has departed from this world. May Allah SWT grant him the highest place in Jannat-ul-Firdous.

--

--

Diary of a young lawyer...

I'm Abdul Qadeer, Lawyer by day and a writer by night. My talent is words. I am an aspiring writer with a huge passion for writing and researching.